24/7 Live News Portal

TEPJF magistrates elect new president of the body

The magistrates of the Electoral Court of the Federal Judicial Power (TEPJF) elected José Luis Vargas Valdez to preside over the judicial body for the next four years.

Judge José Luis Vargas Valdez obtained 4 votes in favor to become the new President of the Electoral Tribunal of the Federal Judicial Branch.

Behind him was the magistrate Reyes Rodríguez with 3 votes.

In an unusual event, the magistrates met in private to elect their new president.

According to sources from the Court, the session was exclusively for the election of the new President.

It has not yet been determined whether there will be a public session this Tuesday, for the new presidency to take office.

José Luis Vargas was the author of the resolution that sought to reverse the election of Puebla, when the late Martha Ericka Alonso won the victory.?He was the author of the resolution by which the registration of México Libre was denied, the organization of Margarita Zavala and Felipe Calderón who sought to become a political party.

Vargas Valdez will be in charge of the Court during the 2021 Elections process, which will renew the Chamber of Deputies next year. During his term of office, the presidential elections of 2024 will be held.

José Luis Vargas replaces Felipe Fuentes Barrera and will preside over the TEPJF from 2020 to 2024.